top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCorey Stamps

Living Together Before Marriage

If we don’t live together how will I know if we are compatible? I’m sure you have heard this from at least one person before. The idea of living together before marriage has took culture by storm and for most, this is completely normal. I grew up in a household where the very thought of living together with someone from the opposite sex was a sin. It was something that you just didn’t do. With two different opinions on living together it brings forth the question, is it really wrong to live together before marriage?

Culture has taught us through our favorite celebrities or TV shows that living together before marriage is completely normal and okay. I can remember before my wife and I got married, many questioned the fact that we never lived together before we were married. They thought it was strange and wondered how things would work. As a follower of Christ my answer is always the same. I didn’t need to worry about how we would be compatible with our living situation when I knew that God ordained for us to be together. That was enough for me to know that we were going to be just fine as we navigated through living together.

As we look at the Bible there isn’t an exact scripture that says you shouldn’t live together before marriage. We can even go as far and say it’s not a sin to live together but rather living together is more of a temptation for other things. 1 Thessalonians 4:3 says,

“For this is the will of God, your sanctification: that you abstain from sexual immorality;”.

While sexual immorality can occur at any place it’s more inclined to happen in a space where you live together. So, if its Gods will for us to be set apart and pure does it really make sense to live together and be tempted to do other things? Our lives are meant for nothing more than to please God.

I know many of you might be saying “I can live with my boyfriend or girlfriend and not be involved in any activity”. You might be right, but let me remind you of 1 Peter 5:8:

“Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.”

I also like this verse in the message version

“Keep a cool head. Stay alert. The Devil is poised to pounce, and would like nothing better than to catch you napping.”

What this verse is saying is to stay alert! While you think you may have it all together the enemy is watching quietly ready to put thoughts and desires in your head to cause you to fall. The best way to stay alert and beat the enemy is to not put yourself in positions that would cause yourself or others to fall.

Lastly, living together is a privilege. It is something that should be valued and respected. Our homes are a place where God wants to dwell with us. In order for him to do that we must position ourselves in the right posture to do the right thing. My hope for you is that you will seek God about this situation. Whether you are currently living with someone or thinking about it, I pray that God will lead and guide you to make a wise decision that sets you up for a successful future in Christ.



Comments


bottom of page