top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCorey Stamps

Ignite Your Fire

When my wife and I were planning to get married we had to go through premarital classes that really helped us as we were getting ready to take this next step in our lives. While everything we learned was good, there was something in those classes that really stuck with me. Our pastor told us that in our marriage we would have to continually keep working to keep our marriage alive. What he was saying was that we have to always keep working to make our marriage fun, new and exciting. When we think about our growth in Christ, we have to consider this same principle. We must always find new ways to ignite the fire within us to stay connected and ultimately grow in Christ.

As I think about my journey in Christ, I have had many of moments where I needed to ignite the fire within me to seek God in a new way. What has often happened for me is I get stuck in a routine of doing the same things over and over. Eventually those things become something I do because I know it needs to be done not because it’s something I am looking forward to. If we are honest, I think we can all can relate to needing a little something extra to ignite the fire within us. The key however is to acknowledge the need and do something about it.

God has left us with a powerful tool called prayer. We may not always know what we need to ignite the fire within us but God surely does. In Psalms 86:11 David asked God to show him what he wants for him to do. You made need to spend more time in prayer, or read your bible more or find a new way to serve at your church. The key is to do something! My hope for you is that you will pray and seek God to find your fire igniter. Once you find the match that causes your flame to burn for Christ, there is nothing you won’t be able to accomplish.

“Teach me your ways, O Lord, that I may live according to your truth! Grant me purity of heart, so that I may honor you.”

Psalms 86:11




Comentarios


bottom of page